Photo Credit: Solidarity-US

I had not heard of The Occupy Wall Street (OWS) movement until I researched for this blog post. Having this movement take place right before Super Bowl was a good and bad idea all at once. Good because tens of thousands would show up for this years super bowl, that means more people they are reaching and informaing. Bad because they are protesting at the wrong time and in the wrong place. I am sure people walking past them were thinking, “now to find my seat through all these people”. Shoving your opinion down people’s throats or into their faces does not work so well.

I do not quite understand what the uproar was about for I am not into politics very much. It seemed to be an important issue.

In the article a protester said, “Upsetting the Super Bowl – I couldn’t care less,” protester Lou Feldman of Lafayette said. “This is about my life and my family. Maybe it will make some people notice.”

I am not sure what kind of effect this had on the NFL. I would like to know though.

I would use the fourth model of public relations practice.

#4  Two-way symmetrical model: uses communication to negotiate with publics, resolve conflict, and promote mutual understanding and respect between the organization and its public(s).

